The Octopus Value Investing newsletter

Introduction. Who I am and how did I start.

Welcome to the Octopus Value Investing, my new newsletter which I want to be my next step as a private investor.

Who I am? - Little summary about my background

I was born in A Coruña, Spain about 3 decades ago. I am an engineer by profession and work in the pharmaceutical industry. As you can see my experience has nothing to do with the stock market and wealth management.

Riazor bay in A Coruña.

Why did I start? - The path to value investing

I started in this world a couple of years ago when, having saved some money from my first job, I decided that it was time to get a return on them. My first contact with investment was trading (which I have studied but never took part) and investment funds from Banco Santander (no much to say apart that it was and awful product).

However, it was not until before start of summer 2022 that, when inflation was rampant, I decided to look for other alternatives. That's when I started a mostly self-taught learning path: podcasts on Spotify, Youtube, reading "Graham's Smart Investor", etc.

Some of the resources I consumed when starting on value investing.

At first, my interest in the subject was more out of duty than passion. I decided to create a new Twitter account to separate my personal interests from "work". The best idea I could have had! I discovered the Spanish fintwit community, and later the international one, finding great references in what I wanted to become. At the end of the day Buffet, Lynch and others are great teachers but I can´t consider them references. Rome was not built in a day and it seems more realistic to establish achievable benchmarks.

Since I began this journey on value investing, I have learned an infinite number of things about previously unknown topics for me, discovered new ones that I am passionate about and improved habits, among others.

In this newsletter you can find articles on companies that I have in my portfolio, on companies or sectors that I have on my radar and discussions and reflections on investment concepts, books, news, etc.

I hope to be able through this newsletter to provide some interesting insights to the community (especially the newest ones) and return part of the value that I have received, as well as improve, establish and review my own ideas and concepts and meet other private investors from who I can learn from and improve.

Thanks for reading The Octopus Value Investing! Subscribe for free to receive my latest posts and work.

Reply

or to participate.